the yarn spinner herself

the yarn spinner herself

Looking for something to do on a rainy day on Denman Island, my attention turned to an old spinning wheel. Susan-Marie had recently bought it from a friend. A big bag of roving sat next to it. T and I spent a half hour going back and forth between computer and spinning wheel to figure it out. It felt a little strange to be learning from a web site and not someone’s grandma, but in the end I was able to produce something resembling yarn.

I tried the “inch worm” technique of drafting the roving and tried to treadle slowly to avoid over spinning, but still ended up with a pretty high number of twists per inch. I then spun two singles together and tried to match my twist rate. This counteracted some excessive twist, but not even a good warm bath could relax all the curls.

For a first try, I’m very pleased with myself, but would really rather learn the finer details from a real person.

drafting the roving

drafting the roving

attaching another chunk of roving

attaching another chunk of roving

not bad for a first try

not bad for a first try

