i found my river to skate away on

i found my river to skate away on

I don’t remember exactly how it all went, but one day when I was about three mum was pulling me in the wagon on our way to the grocery store. It was a brilliantly sunny day and I said, “mom, what’s in the sunshine that makes me smile?” I didn’t know the science, but I was onto something.

It felt so good to get out of the Yukon for a little while, even if the destination was Winnipeg. The days were so much longer, and sunshine felt a little warmer.

For several years the city has been flooding the trails around The Forks National Historic Site, but this year the skating was better than ever. Take that Rideau Canal! The Guiness book of records recognizes the Winnipeg trail as the longest in the world.

the trail winds its way down the Assinaboine River from The Forks

the trail winds its way down the Assinaboine River from The Forks

The river perspective is not one you usually get, unless you happen to canoe to work. Down below the banks, we skated past people’s back yards, and the apartment buildings looked just that much taller.

No speed skaters allowed? Apparently there is a 37 km/h speed limit.

No speed skaters allowed? Apparently there is a 37 km/h speed limit.

